Interview with Executive Director Janie Askew


What is your favorite part of working at Redux?  I would say that my favorite part is getting to “shop” for artists and find new talent that is a good fit for Redux. I also love dealing with the amazing staff, interns, and studio renters and seeing children and adults learn new art forms and develop their creative talents through our classes and workshops.

What is your favorite beverage?  Stella Artois

Who is your celebrity crush? Aiden from Sex and the City because he looks like my boyfriend.

What is your favorite piece of art or artist? At the moment, it is Trenton Doyle Hancock (see image—->). 

What is your favorite thing to do in Charleston?  Eat fried chicken on the beach…it’s a classic.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be?  I would go on an Italian food tour.

If you could have any superhuman power, what would it be?  To be fit as a boxer without having to work out. I used to box. I wasn’t very good, but I looked good.

What is your favorite movie? And your favorite book?  Jurassic Park and Tony Morrison’s A Mercy

What is your favorite piece of clothing?  My grandmother’s fur shawl.

If I take a look inside your refrigerator, what would I find?  Ted’s bacon of the month club

What is the best experience you have had at Redux so far?  The individual studio renter critiques are really rewarding. They bring me back to my love of teaching.

What do you want to do before you die?  Go backpacking through Europe.

What is your favorite Charleston restaurant?  Right now, Rue de Jean…it’s where I met Bill Murray.

Leave a Reply

